APPLYING FOR STUDENT VISA / ENTRY PERMIT

As required by the Hong Kong Immigration Department, non-local students planning to study in Hong Kong must obtain a student visa.

Since the whole visa application process may take up to 8-10 weeks from the day HKUST receives your application, you are strongly advised to send in your visa application documents to HKUST as soon as possible. Once the visa application is submitted, you should not change the port of departure, or you will be responsible for any delays on the visa application process and program registration.

For Degree-seeking UG Students
The Undergraduate Recruitment and Admissions Office (URAO) will assist you with your student visa/entry permit application.  Please apply according to the instructions provided by URAO.

For UG Exchange Students

Please follow the instructions available in your HKUST MyStudyAbroad account. 

UNDERSTANDING YOUR STUDENT VISA AND NO-OBJECTION LETTER

Receiving your Student Visa/Entry Permit
As a non-local student, you require a student visa or an entry permit for taking up your studies at HKUST.

Once your visa application is approved by the Hong Kong Immigration Department, they will inform HKUST. HKUST will pick up the visa and courier it to you. To help us get the visa label to you in time, please make sure that we have your correct mailing address.

Arriving in Hong Kong Without a Student Visa/Entry Permit
From past experience, most students receive their student visa in time for their departure to Hong Kong. For a small number of students, for reasons such as late release of examination results (Freshmen only) or complications at the Hong Kong Immigration Department, the student visa may not be approved in time. If HKUST expects that your student visa will not be ready in time for your departure to Hong Kong, we will let you know in advance. In this case, you should plan to enter Hong Kong as a tourist. On arrival at HKUST, we will advise you on the procedures for picking up and activating your student visa.

Activating your Student Visa/Entry Permit
Your student visa/entry permit will be issued as a self-adhesive label.  After receiving it from HKUST, please affix the label to your travel document, noting the below details:

For students holding Mainland Chinese travel documents
After you receive the entry permit issued by the Hong Kong Immigration Department, you should apply for an "Exit-entry Permit for Travelling to and from Hong Kong and Macao" (EEP) and a relevant exit endorsement from the Public Security Bureau office where your household registration is kept. Please affix the entry permit label onto a blank endorsement page of the EEP on which your relevant exit endorsement has been obtained. You should present the EEP for immigration examination upon arrival in Hong Kong.  In case your EEP bearing the relevant exit endorsement is an electronic EEP, it should be presented together with the entry permit label issued to you for immigration arrival clearance.

For students holding Macau SAR passport
You should affix the entry permit label onto your "Visit Permit for Residents of Macao to HKSAR”.

For students holding Taiwan passport
You will be issued with a single-journy entry permit to take up studies in Hong Kong. After entering Hong Kong on the strength of the single entry permit, you may apply for a "Multiple Entry Permit" (MEP) and transfer of endorsement onto the MEP to facilitate future travels to and from Hong Kong.

For students holding all other passports
You should affix the sticker label on a blank page in your passport.  

When you arrive at the immigration counter at the Hong Kong International Airport or other immigration checkpoints, please present your passport with the page where the student visa sticker label is stuck. Do not expect the Immigration Officer to look for the label. If they do not see it, they may enter you into Hong Kong as a visitor/tourist. Ensure that the Immigration Officer sees the visa label and that s/he issues a landing slip which bears your name, travel document number, arrival date, conditions and limit of stay in Hong Kong.  The landing slip should say "Student-Permitted to remain until DDMMYYYY" and the name of the Hong Kong university you will be enrolling in.  Without this landing slip, your student visa is not activated and you will not be permitted to register at HKUST.

No-Objection Letter (for Degree-seeking Students)
Non-local regular students will receive a No-Objection Letter (NOL) together with your student visa label. It is a letter from the Immigration Department, confirming your eligibility to engage in part-time on-campus employment at the University and summer employment. Should you later engage in such employment, you will be asked by the employer to present this letter, so please take care and keep this letter safe. This NOL has the same validity period as your student visa. If you lose it, you will need to re-apply for one.

In addition to the two types of employment, mentioned above, non-local regular students are also eligible to take up curriculum-related internships during your studies. This will require the application for a separate NOL, when the need arises, after you begin studies at HKUST. You can receive information about this after you enter HKUST.

STUDENT VISA / ENTRY PERMIT EXTENSION

For visas/permits issued after March 2014, the limit of stay granted on a student visa is in line with the normal duration of the study program, subject to the validity remaining on the travel document on the day of entry to Hong Kong. For example, in general, a student visa with a 4-year validity will be granted if you are enrolled in a 4-year program. However, if your travel document will expire in one year's time from the day you enter Hong Kong, then the limit of stay granted will only be one year. You will need to apply for a student visa extension later on. For your convenience, we advise that you obtain a travel document with longer validity before you proceed with your student visa application.

If the validity of your student visa is shorter than the normal duration of your study program, you should apply for an extension of stay four weeks before your limit of stay expires. The limit of stay will be extended in line with the remaining duration of your study program, subject to:

  • A maximum period of six years upon entry as a student under the same study program in the same institution.
  • The validity of your travel document.

To apply for visa extension, you need to first obtain a testimonial from the HKUST Academic Records and Registration (ARR), Academic Registry. With this supporting document, you may apply at the Hong Kong Immigration Department. You should apply in person or authorize in writing a representative to submit the application on your behalf. However, you (the applicant) must be physically in Hong Kong on the date of submission of your visa/entry permit extension and on the date of collection of your new student visa/entry permit.

For details about visa extension, please click here to visit the Hong Kong
Immigration Department webpage
.

WORKING IN HONG KONG DURING YOUR STUDIES

For Degree-seeking Students
For non-local degree-seeking students, the Hong Kong Immigration Department allows you to engage in the following types of employments:

    • Part-time on-campus employment offered by the University and designated on-campus operators
    • Summer job from 1 June to 31 August (both dates inclusive)
    • Curriculum-related internship

For the first two types of employment, your eligibility to engage in these is confirmed on the No-Objection Letter (NOL), which you receive together with your student visa label/entry permit. Should you engage in such employment, you will be asked by the employer to present this letter, so please keep this letter safe. This NOL has the same validity period as your student visa. If you lose it, you will need to reapply for one.

To engage in curriculum-related internships, you need to seek endorsement from the HKUST School Office, and apply for a separate NOL. The curriculum-related internship can be for up to one academic year, or one-third of the normal duration of the relevant full-time academic program, whichever is the shorter. The internship must take place while you are formally registered at the University. Hence, do not take up any internship if your study at the University has completed.

For details, please consult the HKUST Career Center.

For Exchange Students
Exchange students are not eligible to take up employment, whether paid or unpaid, during your studies in Hong Kong.

WORKING IN HONG KONG AFTER GRADUATION

The Hong Kong Immigration Department introduced a scheme called Immigration Arrangements for Non-local Graduates (IANG) to encourage non-local graduates to stay and work as professionals in Hong Kong.

Under IANG, non-local students who have obtained a degree or higher qualification from a full-time, locally accredited local program in Hong Kong can apply to stay (or return) and work in Hong Kong.

Non-local graduates who apply for IANG within six months after the date of graduation (i.e. the date of graduation shown on the Letter of Certification or Graduation Certificate) are classified as fresh graduates. Fresh graduates may apply to stay and work in Hong Kong without having secured an offer of employment upon application. IANG applicants who meet the normal immigration requirements may be granted a 12-month stay with no conditions.

For graduates who apply for IANG beyond six months after the date of graduation (i.e. the date of graduation shown on the Letter of Certification or Graduation Certificate), they will be classified as returning non-local graduates. Returning non-local graduates who wish to work in Hong Kong must have secured an offer of employment when they apply for IANG. An application will be favorably considered if the job is at a level commonly occupied by degree holders and the pay package is set at market level.

Further details about IANG can be found at the Hong Kong Immigration Department.

http://www.immd.gov.hk/eng/services/visas/IANG.html

special notes

International Students Traveling to Mainland China

The student visa, issued by the Hong Kong Immigration Department, does not entitle holders of overseas passports to enter Mainland China. Exchange students and degree-seeking students can apply for a Chinese Tourist Visa from the Office of the Commissioner of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the PRC in Hong Kong.  Degree-seeking students can also apply at the China Travel Service (Hong Kong) Ltd. Branch.

For those holding Singapore, Japan and Brunei passports, you may enter Mainland China for up to two weeks without a visa. Please check on the latest status regarding this policy before departure.

For details on applying for a China Visa, please visit:

 

Mainland Students Traveling Overseas

Students of Mainland Chinese citizenship who wish to travel overseas should ensure that you have a valid passport. The passport application should be made to the Public Security Bureau of their province/city or at the Office of the Commissioner of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the PRC in the HKSAR. The Entry Permit issued by the Hong Kong Immigration Department allows for entry to Hong Kong only, and is not a travel document for travelling overseas.

 

Taiwanese Students Re-Entering Hong Kong

Taiwanese students will be issued a single-journey entry permit to take up studies in Hong Kong. After entering Hong Kong on the single entry permit, you may apply for a "Multiple Entry Permit" (MEP) at the Hong Kong Immigration Department and transfer of endorsement onto the MEP to facilitate your future travels to and from Hong Kong.

LOST OR STOLEN PASSPORTS

Should your passport or travel document be lost or stolen in Hong Kong, please follow the procedures below:

    • Immediately file a report of the stolen document to the Hong Kong Police Force online and keep a print out of this on hand.
    • Inform your consulate in Hong Kong and apply for a new passport. If your consulate is not situated in Hong Kong, you will have to contact the nearest consulate overseas and liaise with them. Remember you will not be allowed to leave Hong Kong without your travel documents.
    • Obtain a testimonial from the Academic Records and Registration Office as proof of your student status at HKUST.
    • Bring your new passport, the testimonial issued by HKUST and the lost report provided by the Hong Kong Police Force to the Extension Section at The Hong Kong Immigration Department, 5th Floor, Immigration Tower, Wan Chai to apply for a transfer of the endorsement of your student visa to your new passport.

申請「來港就讀簽証/進入許可」

所有非本地學生必須申請「來港就讀簽証/進入許可」,方可在港就讀。

同學將已填妥之表格及所需文件寄送香港科技大學。 大學完成覆核後,始將申請遞交至香港入境事務處。 倘若未能提交足夠文件及資料,香港入境事務處將無法處理申請。 如同學的申請材料有問題或有缺漏,大學將直接與同學聯絡。大學一般不會個別聯絡同學。香港入境事務處一般需要六星期處理申請。 為免影響工作效率,以至延誤處理申請的時間,申請人切勿致電香港入境事務處查詢申請進度。申請如獲批准,申請人會獲發簽證/進入許可標籤。大學會代為前往香港入境事務處領取標籤, 並會以快遞形式將標籤寄給申請人。請確保閣下在網上申請系統中填寫的通訊地址及聯絡電話號碼正確無誤。

將於2016年春季學期入讀香港科技大學的本科交換生則可登入本校申請系統
HKUST MyStudyAboard,以查閱及辦理學生簽證、保險及在校住宿等事宜。

學生簽證及不反對通知書

取得學生簽證/進入許可
非本地生需要取得學生簽證或進入許可,方可在香港科技大學就讀。

簽證申請獲香港入境處審批後,入境處將通知香港科技大學。香港科技大學將代收簽證並快遞給你。為及時向同學送遞簽證,請確保你的通訊地址正確無誤。

抵港時並無學生簽證/進入許可
根據過往經驗,大部分同學均準時收取學生簽證進入香港境內。但由於考試成績延遲公佈(僅對新生而言)或香港入境處的嚴格規定,小部分同學的學生簽證或未能及時審批送遞。如香港科技大學預計同學的學生簽證未能及時獲簽發,本校將會預先通知同學。在此情況下,同學應計劃以遊客身份進入香港。抵達香港科技大學後,本校將指導同學領取及啟動學生簽證的程序。

啟動學生簽證/進入許可
學生簽證將以貼紙標籤形式簽發。你應該將貼紙標籤貼於旅行證件的空白頁上。

內地同學
若內地同學申請獲得批准,同學須憑標籤向其戶口所在地的公安機關出入境管 理部門申領《往來港澳通行證》及相關赴港簽注。請把進入許可標籤貼於具有相關赴港簽注的《往來港澳通行證》空白簽注頁上,並須在抵港時向入境處人 員出示。倘若同學持有具相關赴港簽注的《往來港澳通行證》為電子《往來港 澳通行證》,則須於辦理入境手續時一併出示其獲發的進入許可標籤 。

澳門同學
同學應把該簽證╱進入許可標籤貼在其旅行證件或《澳門居民往來香港特別行 政區旅遊證》的空白頁上,便可憑該證件進入香港 。

台灣同學
台灣同學獲簽發的為「單次入境許可證」。同學須憑「單次入境許可證」來港後,另行向香港入境事務處申請「多次入境許可證」及轉移其學生逗留條件至該「多次入境許可證」上,作為日後出入境之用。

台灣同學獲批准來港就讀兼讀制課程, 會獲發多次進入許可 ,同學可於申請 時一併將他們的身份陳述書副本提交入境處處理,並將多次進入許可貼於身份 陳述書內使用。

其他國籍的同學
同學應把該簽證╱進入許可標籤貼在其旅行證件的空白頁上。

當你抵達香港國際機場入境櫃位或其他入境關卡時,請出示你的護照或旅行證件,並翻至貼有學生簽證標籤的一頁。同學不要預期入境處人員主動查看標籤。如入境處人員未有看到標籤,你可能會以訪客/旅客的身份入境。請確保入境處人員查閱簽證標籤,並籤發入境標籤。入境標籤上會載有持有人的英文姓名、證件號碼、入境日期、在港的逗留條件和期限等資料,包括「學生獲准逗留至(日/年)」及同學來港就讀之院校名稱。如未有獲發入境標籤,同學的學生簽證不會生效,並將不會獲准在香港科技大學註冊。

不反對通知書(本科生)
非本地本科生將同時取得不反對通知書及學生簽證標籤。不反對通知書由入境處發出,確認你有資格可在科大就讀期間從事校內兼職及暑期工。如同學其後從事有關工作,僱主將會要求你出示這封通知書。因此,請小心保管通知書。不反對通知書的有效期與學生簽證相同。如遺失通知書,同學將需要向入境處申請補領。

除上述兩種就業形式外,非本地本科生亦符合資格在留學期間參與與課程相關的實習計劃。如有此需要,同學將需於開始在香港科技大學修讀後申請另一份不反對通知書。入讀香港科技大學後,你可以取得有關這方面的資訊。

學生簽證/進入許可延期

就2014年3月以後簽發的簽證/許可而言,學生簽證的逗留期限與正常的課程修業期一致,惟須視乎來港當日旅行證件的剩餘有效期限而定。例如,一般而言,如你報讀四年課程,則學生簽證的有效期限為四年。然而,如你的旅行證件將於來港當日起計一年內屆滿,則逗留期限將僅為一年。其後你必須申請學生簽證延期。為方便行事,我們建議你在申請學生簽證之前,取得有效期限較長的旅行證件。

倘學生簽證的有效期限短於正常的課程修業期,你應在逗留期限屆滿前四星期申請延長逗留期限。逗留期限將根據剩餘的課程修業期延長,並受以下規限:

  • 入讀同一院校同一課程的同學,自入學起計最長六年。
  • 旅行證件的有效期限。

為申請簽證延期,你首先需取得香港科技大學教務處的證明。帶上此證明文件,你可前往香港入境事務處遞交申請。你可親自遞交或以授權書委託代理人代為提交申請,惟在遞交簽證/進入許可延期申請及領取新的學生簽證/進入許可當日,你(申請人)必須身在香港。

有關學生簽證延期,請按此參閱香港入境事務處網頁

修讀期間在港工作

本科生
就香港科技大學的非本地本科生而言,香港入境事務處允許從事以下類型的工作:

    • 科大及指定校內營運商提供的校內兼職工作
    • 6月1日至8月31日(首尾兩天包括在內)期間的暑期工作
    • 與課程相關的實習工作
  1. 就前兩類工作而言,你是否符合從事該等工作的資格將於「不反對通知書」內確認。「不反對通知書」將與學生簽證標籤一併簽發。你在從事該等工作時,僱主將要求你出示該通知書,因此,請妥善保管該通知書。「不反對通知書」的有效期限與學生簽證相同。如不慎遺失,你需要重新申請。

    在從事課程相關的實習工作時,你需要獲得香港科技大學校園辦事處的簽注,並申請獨立的「不反對通知書」。課程相關的實習工作為期最長一個學年,或有關全日制學術課程正常修業期的三分之一時間,兩者之中以較短者為準。從事實習工作的同學必須為科大的正式註冊學生。因此,如你已完成科大課程,則不可從事實習工作。

    有關詳情,請諮詢香港科技大學就業中心。

    交換生
    交換生在港修讀期間不符合資格從事有薪或無薪的工作。

畢業後在港工作

香港入境事務處推出一項稱為「非本地畢業生留港╱回港就業安排」的計劃,以鼓勵非本地畢業生留港工作,成為香港的專業人士。

根據「非本地畢業生留港╱回港就業安排」,在香港修讀全日制經本地評審本地課程而獲得學位或更高資歷的非本地學生可申請留港(或回港)工作。

非本地畢業生如在畢業日期(即證明信或畢業證書所載的畢業日期)起計的六個月內申請「非本地畢業生留港╱回港就業安排」,均屬於應屆畢業生類別。應屆畢業生可申請留港工作,在提出申請時毋須已獲聘用。「非本地畢業生留港╱回港就業安排」的申請人,只須符合一般的入境規定,即可獲准留港12個月,而不受任何條件限制。

畢業生如在畢業日期(即證明信或畢業證書所載的畢業日期)起計的六個月後申請「非本地畢業生留港╱回港就業安排」,則屬於回港非本地畢業生類別。回港非本地畢業生如有意在港工作,須在申請「非本地畢業生留港╱回港就業安排」時已經獲聘。只要受僱從事的工作通常是由持有大學學位的人士擔任,以及薪酬福利條件達到市場水平,有關申請將獲優先考慮。

有關「非本地畢業生留港╱回港就業安排」的進一步詳情,可向香港入境事務處查詢。

特別注意

國際學生到中國內地旅行
香港入境事務處簽發的學生簽證並不適用與進入中國內地。如需進入中國內地,你必須向中華人民共和國外交部駐香港特別行政區特派員公署申請中國旅行簽證。本科生亦可透過香港中國旅行社有限公司申請中國旅行簽證。

持有新加坡、日本及文萊護照的同學,可以在無旅行簽證的情況下進入中國內地逗留最多兩週。出發前請查閱有關該政策的最新情況。

有關申請中國旅行簽證事宜,請溜覽:

中國內地學生出國旅行
中國內地公民身份的同學如欲出國旅行,須確保持有有效護照。護照須向其所在省/市的公安機關或向中華人民共和國外交部駐香港特別行政區特派員公署申請。香港入境事務處簽發的入境許可證只允許進入香港,並非出國旅行的旅行證件。

台灣學生再次進入香港
台灣同學將獲簽發單程入境許可證在港修業。通過單程入境許可證進入香港後,你可以向香港入境事務處申請「多次入境許可證」及將簽注轉移至多次入境許可證以方便你日後往返香港。

護照遺失或被盜

倘你的護照或旅行文件在香港遺失或被盜,請遵循以下程序:

    • 立即在網上就被盜文件向香港警務處報案,並保存報告的列印本。
    • 通知你所屬國家駐香港的領事館並申請新護照。倘你所屬國家在香港並無設立領事館,你需要聯絡最近的海外領事館。切記沒有旅行文件,你將無法離開香港。
    • 向學生紀錄及註冊處領取證明書,證明你是香港科技大學的學生。
    • 帶同你的新護照、香港科技大學發出的證明書及香港警務處提供的遺失報告,前往香港入境事務處的延期逗留組(地址:灣仔入境事務大樓5樓)申請將你的學生簽證的簽注轉移至新護照。