LANGUAGE

Hong Kong being an international harbour for the rich blend of cultures, has its unique character. Locals speak mainly Cantonese while English and Mandarin are widely spoken. All official signs, most commercial materials and menus are bilingual, while public transport announcements are in Cantonese, English and Mandarin.

English is the language of instruction at HKUST, and you can expect to encounter minimal problems communicating in English on campus. With our experiences, it is worthwhile to learn some Cantonese upon arrival or ideally in advance before travelling to Hong Kong if you really want to understand and live in the culture, interact with the locals and to get the most out while you are here. You will also find yourselves adapting to the environment much easier and happier.

HOLIDAYS

Hong Kong has 17 statutory public holidays a year. Most shops and restaurants, major attractions, theme parks and public transport will operate as usual on most of these days, but banks and offices will be closed. For the Lunar New Year, commercial outlets will usually be closed for a couple of days and some traditional or family-run businesses may stay closed for up to 2 weeks.

Hong Kong's official public holidays can be found here.

WATER

The water supply in Hong Kong is amongst the safest in the world. But as the quality and maintenance of water pipes varies from building to building, it is suggested that you consume boiled or bottled water.

Drinking water quality in Hong Kong

TELEPHONE

Mobile Phone
Most of the world's mobile telecommunications systems operate in Hong Kong, including GSM 900, PCS 1800, CDMA and WCDMA.

If you wish to stay connected immediately upon arrival in Hong Kong, you can purchase a Discover Hong Kong Tourist SIM card or a prepaid SIM card from recognized mobile phone network provider which offers free local calls, free WiFi, bundles of mobile data, as well as affordable international calls and SMS messages. Before purchasing one, you should check carefully the validity of the prepaid cards as it varies from days to months. They are available at the airport as well as at major convenience stores.

Once settled, you may consider subscribing to a monthly plan offered by a local mobile phone network provider to enjoy reasonable rates.

Discover Hong Kong Tourist SIM Card

Choice of Mobile Phone Network Providers

POSTAL SERVICE

The Hong Kong Post provides fast and reliable local and international global service. Local regular mail costs HK$1.70 for a standard letter article. For courier service, in addition to the Hong Kong Post, international services including FedEx, UPS, DHL, and SF Express are also available in Hong Kong.

On campus, the post box is located outside the lift lobby of Lift 31-32 on 2nd Floor, with the mailing service available at Mail Room (Room 2615).

GETTING AROUND

Public Transportation System
Hong Kong's public transportation system is considered to be world-class in terms of its management and efficiency. Once you are oriented, getting around by public transportation is relatively easy. As a general rule, the Mass Transit Railway (MTR) is always a safe bet for traveling efficiently. This is especially so during peak hours when roadways can become congested.

Click here to download the MTR System Route Map.

Taxi Service
Taxis in Hong Kong are generally abundant. You can queue for them at the taxi stands or flag down one on the street. In general, taxis are not allowed to drop off or pick up passengers on roads with double yellow lines or in restricted zones.

All taxis are metered, and you should refer to the meter for the exact charge. Taxi fare information is listed on the inside of the taxi, or from the Hong Kong Transport Department's website. Charges in addition to the meter charge may include a tunnel toll if the journey passes through paid tunnels and there will be a luggage fee of $5 per piece. Always ask for a receipt. This helps you track down lost items or the taxi driver. If you cannot read the price, the taxi number or the fine-print on the the receipt, ask for a hand-written version. Foreign currencies, credit cards or Octopus cards are not accepted. Tipping is not necessary except for rounding to the nearest dollar.

Passengers are required by law to wear a seatbelt, when available, whether sitting in the front or rear. All taxis are regulated and taxi drivers are required to display their Taxi Driver Identity Sign on the dashboard.

Failure to pay your taxi fare is a criminal offence in Hong Kong.

Taxis running in the city are red in color, while those in the New Territories are in green and those on Lantau Island are in blue. Red taxis can travel anywhere, while the green and blue taxis can operate only within their respective areas. All taxis can travel to and from the Hong Kong International Airport.

If you encounter any problems with the taxi service, such as possible overcharging, take down the taxi driver's name and license plate number as shown on the Taxi Driver Identity Sign on the cab's dashboard to lodge your complaint.

CAMPUS FACILITIES

Library and learning commons
HKUST’s five-story library is centrally located on campus and open seven days a week. In addition to book, periodical, microfilm collections, media materials, the library has extensive electronic collections including electronic databases and full-text e-journals.

Students are also welcome to make use of our learning commons. They are student-centered space to promote intellectual exchanges, sharing of creative ideas and total learning experience.

Sports and Recreation
The campus offers a great range of sports and recreational facilities, all free to registered students, including:

  • Indoor sports complex
  • Sports Field
  • Astroturf soccer pitch
  • Outdoor swimming pool
  • Indoor swimming pool
  • Gym room
  • Tennis courts
  • Squash courts
  • Climbing wall
  • BBQ pits by the sea
  • Multi-purpose rooms suitable for different activities like table-tennis, aerobic dance, fencing, martial arts and indoor archery
  • Music room, Piano rooms and Band room
  • Creativity Room
  • Reflection Room (for prayer, reflection or meditation)
BANKING

Campus Banks
Most international banks have branches in Hong Kong. On campus, there are three banks: Hang Seng Bank, Bank of China, and the Bank of East Asia.

Electronic Payment
ATMs are widespread in Hong Kong. Most terminals are linked to international money systems, including Cirrus, Maestro, Plus, Visa Electron, UnionPay, as well as the Visa and MasterCard credit systems. However, you should note that there are ATM systems in Hong Kong; one is linked to the Bank of China and its partners, and the other used by HSBC and other international banks. You may be charged a fee if you use an ATM machine operating on a system not linked to your bank.

Credit Cards
Most major banks offer credit cards to students. Please be aware of payment due dates, annual fees and interest charges to protect your credit rating. Always check the credit card slip and receipt before signing and keep all copies of receipts as proof of purchase.

Money Exchange
We recommend that you do not carry large amounts of cash. Instead, carry a mixture of cash, bank drafts, checks or travelers' checks in order to safeguard your finances when entering Hong Kong. The combined amount should at least cover your hall fee payment and personal expenses during the first month. For degree-seeking students and exchange students who are going to spend more than one semester here, you are advised to open a local bank account as soon as possible after arrival so that secure electronic money transactions can be carried out.

Banks usually have the best foreign exchange rates, although some are better than others. Often, the rate depends on the amount you are changing, and whether you hold an account with the bank. Commissions and service charges may apply in some cases, so you may wish to shop around before exchanging money.

Currency
The basic unit of currency is the Hong Kong dollar which is pegged at about HKD7.80 to USD1.00, and consequent rates of exchange to other currencies. The Hong Kong dollar is divided into 100 cents and notes in denominations of $10, $20, $50, $100, $500 and $1,000 are issued by HSBC, the Bank of China and the Standard Chartered Bank. The government also issues $10 notes. The colors of $10, $20 and $50 notes have changed in recent years, but all remain legal tender. Please be aware that there are different designs for notes of the same denomination.

FOOD ON CAMPUS

There are many eateries on and around campus. They are a great place to catch up with your friends as well as fill your stomachs.

Various Canteens
The student canteens located in Lower Ground Levels 1 and 7 and at the Business School Building are the largest canteens on campus. The canteens mainly serve Chinese dishes, with some noodles, pastas and sandwiches. There is also a McDonald's on campus.

Milano Fresh
Location: Lower Ground Level 7 (near the lawn area)

Serves custom-made salads, wraps, soups, pizzas, pastas, roast chicken and other western hot entrees.

Coffee Kiosk
Location: Across from LT-C

Packed in the morning and afternoon rushes, the Coffee Kiosk is the place for getting your coffee, tea or something light that you wish to grab and go.

Coffee Shop
Location: Across from LT-C

For breakfast, the restaurant serves pastries, muffins, bagels, sandwiches, omelets, as well as continental breakfasts.

For lunch and dinner, the restaurant serves salads, sandwiches, Panini, baked potatoes, Indian curry (veg and non-veg), soups and hot entrees. This restaurant is popular with students with vegetarian preferences. There is indoor and outdoor patio seating available.

Cafe Liscio
Location: LSK Building

Serving breakfast including muffins and different types of pastries, as well as lunch/dinner including panini and packed salad.

Starbucks
Location: Next to bookstore

Remember to present your HKUST Student ID Card to enjoy 30% discount.

Subway
Location: CYT Building

Sandwiches prepared on a variety of freshly baked breads, with your choice of cold cuts or Veggie Delite.

UC Bistro & Bar
Location: University Center

The University Center Bistro serves a western menu for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The adjacent Uni-Bar is the bar on campus.

UniQue
Location: Conference Lodge

A stylish restaurant with panoramic sea views, a sensational bar and a patio for al fresco dining. The well-varied menu offers something for everyone, with options that includes international dishes and local favorites, health-conscious meals, and vegan, dairy-free and gluten-free items.

Ebeenezer's (Halal-certified)
Location: LSK Building

Ebeneezer's Kebab & Pizzeria is a well-known eatery in Hong Kong that specializes in a variety of kebabs, Indian curries, biryanis and pizzas. It is Halal-Certified.

Chinese Restaurant
Location: Atrium (Ground Floor)

What would be an authentic Hong Kong experience without dim sum and the many-course Cantonese dinner?! The Chinese Restaurant, located right on campus, is a full scale restaurant. You can order dim sum for lunch, and Chinese dishes for dinner.

Seafront Cafeteria
Location: UG Hall VI (Ground Floor)

“Seafront” is a cafeteria located at Hall VI serving Chinese soup noodles, rice dishes, and desserts. It is the only caterer on campus that opens until after midnight.

Campus Supermarket
Location: Lower Ground Level 7

You can get your daily necessities from the campus supermarket. Some wishing to opt for simple breakfasts can get your milk, cereals and breads from here.

McDonald's
Location: Lower Ground Level 5

語言

香港,因著其殖民地歷史背景和國際貿易港地位,構成了中西薈萃、多元文化的面貌。香港日常用語為粵語,而大部份市民均操流利英語及普通話。所有官方標誌均以雙語(英文及繁體中文)標識,大部分商店和餐館的招牌也同時兼具中英文。

大學以英語教學,一般在校園內以英語溝通不會遇到困難。然而,倘若您希望能更快適應在港生活,令在香港學習期間收穫更多,建議同學來港前或於抵港學習基本粵語。

假期

香港每年有十七天法定公眾假期。銀行及公營機構會於公眾假期休息,而大部份旅遊點及商店則會如常營業。農曆新年期間,傳統店鋪及家庭式經營的商店會休息,部份商戶或會休息超過一週。

按此瀏覧公眾假期相關資料。

食水

香港的自來水是全球最安全的食水之一。但是,由於每幢樓宇的水管質素和維修情況各異,因此建議同學飲用開水或瓶裝水。

香港食水水質

電話

手提電話
大部分全球流動通訊系統均覆蓋香港,包括GSM 900、PCS 1800、 CDMA 和 WCDMA。

抵港後如欲即時與各方聯繫,可在機場和各大便利店購買香港任縱橫儲值卡或認可電訊機構的儲值卡。儲值卡一般包含本地通話、WiFi、限額流動數據和價格相宜的國際通話和短訊服務。購買儲值卡前,應先留意儲值卡的有效期。

本校建議同學在安頓妥當後,可考慮向本地手提電訊網絡服務供應商申請月費計劃,以合理價格享用通訊服務。

香港任縱橫儲值卡

電訊網絡服務供應商

郵遞服務

香港郵政提供迅速可靠的本地和國際全球服務。標準信件的本地平郵郵費為1.70港元。除香港郵政外,香港亦設有國際速遞服務,包括FedEx、UPS、DHL和順豐速運。

學術大樓二樓31-32號電梯大堂外設有郵箱,另校園服務處郵件房(2615號室)提供郵遞服務。

出行交通

公共交通
香港的公共交通具備世界一流的效率管理系統。看清目的地方向後,乘客更易於使用公共交通工具。一般情況下,尤其是路面在繁忙時段擠塞時,港鐵通常是最安全便捷的交通工具。

按此下載港鐵路綫圖

的士
的士在香港隨處可見。你可在的士站排隊等候或在街上截停的士。一般情況下,的士不得在雙黃線的道路或在禁區內落客。

所有的士均按行車哩數收費,確實車資在咪錶上顯示。車資資料在的士車廂內列明,亦登載於香港運輸署網站。除車費外,乘客或須支付附加費,例如駛經收費隧道時須支付隧道費,攜帶行李的同學須為每件行李支付5元行李費。付款後應索取收據,這有助你尋回失物或聯絡的士司機。價格、的士號碼或收據的打印字跡如模糊不清,可索取手寫收據。的士不接受以外幣、信用卡或八達通等形式付款。乘客毋須支付小費,但的士司機可能避免毫子找續,將車資尾數化作整數。

法例規定,座位如設有安全帶,前座和後座乘客均須佩戴。所有的士均受監管,的士司機須在儀錶板上展示其的士司機證。

不付的士車資在香港屬刑事罪行。

市區的士為紅色,新界的士為綠色,而大嶼山的士為藍色。紅色的士可往來任何地方,綠色和藍色的士僅可在各自經營範圍行駛。所有的士均可往來香港國際機場。

乘搭的士時如遇到任何問題,例如懷疑被濫收車資,可記下儀錶板上的士司機證所示的司機姓名和車牌號碼,以便作出投訴。

銀行服務

校內銀行
大部分國際銀行均設有香港分行。校園內共設有三間銀行:恒生銀行、中國銀行和東亞銀行。

電子付款
自動櫃員機遍佈全港。大部分終端機連接國際貨幣系統,包括Cirrus、Maestro、Plus、Visa Electron、銀聯以及Visa和萬事達卡信用系統。然而,同學應注意,香港設有兩個自動櫃員機系統,一個連接中國銀行和其合作夥伴;另一個則供滙豐銀行和其他國際銀行使用。如你使用的自動櫃員機並非在連接你所屬銀行的系統上運作,則可能被收取費用。

信用卡
大部分主要銀行均有向學生提供信用卡。請留意付款到期日、年費和利息收費,以保障你的信用評級。每次簽署信用卡賬單及收據前請檢查清楚,並保留所有收據副本作為購買證明。

貨幣兌換
本校不建議同學攜帶大量現金,抵港時應該同時攜帶現金、銀行匯票、支票或旅行支票。攜帶金額合共應至少可支付首月的宿費和個人開支。本校建議你在抵步後儘快開立本地銀行賬戶,確保可以進行電子貨幣交易。

銀行通常設有最佳外幣匯率,雖然部分銀行的匯率相對其他銀行更佳。匯率通常取決於兌換金額和你是否持該銀行的賬戶。某些情況下,可能會收取佣金及服務費,因此,你不妨在兌換貨幣前多詢問幾家銀行比較收費。

貨幣
港元為基本貨幣單位,其與美元掛鈎,有關匯率約為7.80港元兌1.00美元,與其他貨幣的匯率則視乎該匯率而定。港元分為100仙,而鈔票分為10元、20元、50元、100元、500元和1,000元,由滙豐銀行、中國銀行和渣打銀行發行。政府亦發行10元鈔票。近年,10元、20元和50元鈔票的顏色有所改變,但全部均仍然為法定貨幣。請留意相同幣值的鈔票亦會有不同的圖案設計。

校內進餐

飯堂科大校園內和校園附近有很多餐館,非常適合與三五知己談天說地、盡情吃喝。

飯堂
位於LG1和LG7以及商學院大樓內的學生飯堂為校內最大的飯堂。飯堂主要提供中菜,亦提供一些麵食、意大利粉和三文治。校園內亦設有麥當勞。

Milano Fresh
位於LG7,提供各款自選沙律、卷餅、湯、薄餅、意粉、烤雞及其他西式料理。

Coffee Kiosk
位於Lecture Theater C 對出,Coffee Kiosk在早午餐時段都會非常熱鬧,是一個讓你點杯咖啡、熱茶或小吃外賣的好地方。

Coffee Shop
位於Lecture Theater C 對出,早餐提供西式糕點、鬆餅、百吉圈、三文治、奄列以及歐陸式早餐。 午餐及晚餐設有各款沙律、三文治、帕里尼三文治、焗薯、印度咖哩(素菜及肉類)、湯及其他菜式。Coffee Shop是素食學生的至愛,設有室內及室外座位。

Cafe Liscio
位於李兆基商學大樓,提供早餐、法包、意大利包及多種小食。

星巴克
位於書店旁。出示科大學生證可享七折優惠。

Subway
位於鄭裕彤樓地下的Subway快餐店提供潛水艇三文治。

UC Bistro & Bar
位於 University Center 的西餐廳 (UC Bistro)提供西式早午晚餐,相連的酒吧 (Uni-Bar)則是校園內唯一的酒吧。

UniQue
位於 University Center 的西餐廳 (UC Bistro)UniQue餐廳坐擁一望無際的壯闊海景,環境寫意舒適,並設有酒吧及庭園露天雅座。餐廳備有多元化的美食選擇,除了一系環球美饌及本地佳外,還提供多款健康菜式、素食、不含奶類及無麩質的食品,滿足不同賓客的口味。 

Ebeenezer's (獲授香港回教信託基金總會清真標誌和認證的食肆)
Ebeneezer's Kebab & Pizzeria是香港著名食肆,專門提供各式烤肉、印度咖哩、印度炒飯及薄餅。餐廳已獲清真證書認證。

中菜館南北小廚
真正的香港生活體驗怎可缺少點心和滿桌佳餚的粵式晚餐?!中菜館南北小廚位於校園內 Ground Floor,為同學提供全面的服務。中午時段提供各式點心,晚上則提供各款中菜。

Seafront Cafeteria
位於本科生宿舍六座,提供港式湯粉麵及糖水。Seafront是科大內唯一營業至凌晨的小食店。

校園超級市場
位於LG7,校園超級市場為你提供各種日常生活用品。想吃個簡單早餐的你,可以在這裡找到牛奶、穀類食品及麵包自行享用。

麥當勞
位於LG5

校園設施

圖書館及綜合研習坊
位於香港賽馬會大堂側,樓高五層,每周七天開放。圖書館備有大量電子數據庫及學術期刊。

綜合研習坊為一個集資訊及多媒體應用等多功能於一身的學習樞紐 ,幫助推動同學之間的學習交流。

體育及康樂
大學設有下列不同的體育及康樂設施,供同學免費使用。

  • 室內運動場
  • 田徑運動場
  • 人造草足球場
  • 室外游泳池
  • 室內游泳池
  • 健身室
  • 網球場
  • 壁球場
  • 攀登牆
  • 燒烤場
  • 多用途室(適合乒乓球、健康舞、劍擊、武術、室內射箭等)
  • 音樂室、鋼琴室、樂隊練習室
  • 創藝室
  • 靜思室(適合禱告、沉思、靜修等)