Personal Well-being

Your first few weeks in Hong Kong may be hectic and confusing. During the term, manage your time and finances wisely to avoid unnecessary stresses (or distress). Take some time to explore Hong Kong, experience the culture, and keep in touch with your family back home. You may also participate in student activities, and discover new interests to make the best of your time in Hong Kong.

Counseling

You are encouraged to consult professional counselors, who are available on campus, should you experience any of the following:

  • Emotional instability, depression or anxiety
  • Interpersonal tension or conflict
  • Maladjustment to University or campus life
  • Unsatisfactory academic performance
  • Alcohol and/or drug abuse
  • Eating disorders
Alcohol

While social drinking is acceptable, we strongly discourage excessive drinking to the point where it impairs your judgment.

The legal drinking age in Hong Kong is 18. Premises serving alcohol may perform ID checks. In such cases, you will have to provide a government-issued identity card stating clearly your date of birth, such as your passport or HKID.

Smoking

Smoking is hazardous to your health. Hong Kong law prohibits smoking in most enclosed areas, including restaurants, karaoke boxes, malls and some bars; as well as in most public outdoor areas, including public beaches, swimming pools, transport interchanges, escalators and university campuses. As such, HKUST is a non-smoking campus.

Any person who smokes or carries a lighted tobacco product in a statutory non-smoking area will be fined up to HK$1,500.

For more information on the policy of non-smoking campus, please click here.

Narcotics

Hong Kong laws regarding the enforcement and penalities for narcotics may be different from that of other countries. You should pay attention to these. In Hong Kong, the below are considered offences and are liable for conviction:

  • Trafficking a dangerous drug (includes selling or distributing a drug)
  • Manufacturing a dangerous drug
  • In possession of, or smoking, inhaling, ingesting or injecting a dangerous drug
  • In possesion of any pipe, equipment or appartus fit and intended for smoking, inhaling, ingesting or injecting a dangerous drug
  • Cultivating any plant of the genus cannabis or opium poppy
Faith and Religion

Religious freedom is protected and guaranteed under Hong Kong's Basic Law. While most of Hong Kong's ethnic Chinese adhere to traditional Chinese faiths such as Buddhism and Taoism, there are numerous other religions in the territory that contribute to its cultural diversity. These include Christianity, Islam, Hinduism and Judaism, amongst many others.

The below places of worship are the closest locations to HKUST for the respective faiths:

Diet-specific Information

Being able to adhere to diet-specific preferences or needs is an important part of staying physically and mentally well when you are living in a new environment. While it may take some time for you to adjust to what is available for your dietary needs in Hong Kong, it is possible as long as you give it a little effort and are open to a little bit of compromise.

 

Halal-certified foods
Halal certification is granted through the Incorporated Trustees of the Islamic Community Fund of Hong Kong.

Click here to view a list of the certified restaurants published by the Hong Kong Tourism Board.

 

Kosher
The Va'ad Hakashrut of Hong Kong (VHHK) supervises the strict kashrut of the Jewish Community Center, including the restaurant and the Koshermart.

Click here for more information from the Jewish Community Centre of Hong Kong

Food Allergies / Intolerance

The best way to avoid an allergic reaction to food is to avoid that food. Ask the food provider about the ingredients used to make the dish, review the ingredient labels on packaged foods, or eat only what you prepare yourself.

If your food allergies or intolerance can lead to life threatening symptoms, we advise you to be vigilant when eating out, as the possibilities of cross contamination in food preparation facilities can sometimes be unavoidable. In addition, you should be aware that different countries have different food labeling laws, which may require products to list only the major items or not require them to list any ingredients altogether.

When traveling to a place where you are unfamiliar with the local language, you should carry a card with you that describes your food allergy/intolerance and its resultant symptoms. This card should be in the local language, so that it can be shown to eateries to clearly communicate the details and severity of your allergy/intolerance.

個人健康

初到香港的前幾個星期,你或會感到忙亂而不知所措。期間,請精明地管理時間及財務,避免不必要的壓力。抽閒深入香港、體驗文化並與家人保持聯繫。你亦可參加學生活動,培養新的興趣愛好,以便充分利用在港時間。

輔導諮詢

如出現以下情況,我們建議你諮詢校內專業輔導員:

  • 情緒不安、抑鬱或焦慮
  • 人際關係緊張或衝突
  • 不適應科大或校園生活
  • 學業成績不理想
  • 酗酒及/或吸毒
  • 飲食失調
酗酒

我們允許社交性飲酒,但絕不贊成影響你判斷力的過度酗酒。

香港法定飲酒年齡為十八歲。酒類經營場所或會檢查身份證明文件。在此情況下,你須出示政府簽發並註明你出生日期的身份證件,如護照或香港身份證。

吸煙

吸煙有害健康。香港法例禁止於多數室內區域(包括餐廳、卡拉OK包廂、商場及若干酒吧)以及多數公共室外區域(包括公共海灘、游泳池、交通交匯處、自動電梯及大學校園)吸煙。因此,香港科技大學為無煙校園。

於法定禁煙區吸煙或攜帶燃著的煙草產品將處以1,500港元罰款。

有關更多無煙校園的資訊,請按此處

毒品

敬請注意,香港法例對於毒品罪行的執法和處罰有可能與其他國家有所不同。於香港進行以下行為即屬違法並可被定罪:

  • 販運危險藥物(包括向他人出售或供應危險藥物)
  • 製造危險藥物
  • 管有危險藥物;或吸食、吸服、服食或注射危險藥物
  • 管有任何適合於及擬用作吸食、吸服、服食或注射危險藥物的管筒、設備或器具
  • 栽植任何大麻屬植物或鴉片罌粟
宗教信仰

儘管多數香港華裔信奉中國傳統宗教,如佛教和道教,在這個多元文化的社會,有不同族群和諧共處、不同宗教相互包容,展現著大都會的氣魄。

下表載列各大宗教距離香港科技大學最近的禮拜場所:

特定飲食資料

面對新的生活環境,能夠維持特定的飲食偏好或需求是保持良好身心健康的重要一環。你可能需要一些時間,去適應能滿足你需求的飲食,但只要你稍加努力及多一些包容理解,問題便可迎刃而解。

 

清真認證食品
清真認證乃由香港回教信託基金會總會授出。請按此下載香港旅遊發展局發布的有經認證餐廳名單

 

符合猶太教規的食物
Va'ad Hakashrut of Hong Kong (VHHK)監督猶太人社區中心(包括餐廳及Koshermart)恪守猶太教飲食教規的情況。

如欲了解更多,請按此登入香港猶太人社區中網頁

食物過敏/過敏反應

避免食物過敏反應的最佳方法是避免食用導致過敏的食物。向食物供應商詢問製作菜式所使用的配料,檢查包裝食品的成份標籤,或僅食用自己準備的食物。

倘你的食物過敏或過敏反應會危及生命,我們建議你外出用餐時提高警惕,因為食物烹調設施的交叉污染有時無可避免。此外,須注意不同國家有不同的食物標籤法律,有關法律可能僅要求列出產品的主要成份或根本並無規定須列出任何成份。

當你到一個不熟悉當地語言的地方旅行時,應隨身攜帶一張說明你的食物過敏/過敏反應及過敏症狀的卡片。卡片上的文字須使用當地語言,以便向餐館清楚說明詳情及過敏/過敏反應的嚴重程度。